The Best Switch Hitters in Baseball History, Part 2 of 2

The Best Switch Hitters in Baseball History, Part 1 of 2: Tops in Hits, Home Runs, Batting Average, RBI and Runs Scored

The Four Best Switch Hitters In Baseball History: Pete Rose, Mickey Mantle, Eddie Murray And Chipper Jones

The Four Best Switch Hitters In Baseball History: Pete Rose, Mickey Mantle, Eddie Murray And Chipper Jones

Baseball’s all-time hits leader, Pete Rose, was a switch hitter. The great Mickey Mantle, a switch hitter.

Another switch hitter – a more balanced and equally statistically impressive one, in fact – can be easily forgotten amongst giants like those two, but definitely should not be.

It’s Eddie Murray, and take a seat before checking his numbers.

Rose, of course, has more hits than any switch hitter. Next on the list? Murray. They are the only 3,000-switch hit men. Mantle finished with 2,415, out of the top 10 below.

Mantle smacked 536 home runs, 16th all-time and most amongst switch hitters. Murray smacked 504. They are the only 500-HR switch hit men. Rose? 160. Way, way out of the top 10.

OK, Murray “only” finished with a .287 lifetime batting average, but he has more RBI than either Rose or Mantle and the most ever amongst switch hitters.

Runs scored? They’re one-two-three.

Fourth? Chipper Jones (and he’s fifth amongst switchies in hits, third in home runs, third in batting average and second in RBI, too).

Jones is the one switch hitter to appear on all five lists.

A final note. Only five switch hitters finished with a career .300 average* (including Jones, again). Makes you wonder. Does it really pay to be one?


1. Pete Rose 4,256
2. Eddie Murray 3,255
3. Frankie Frisch 2,880
4. Omar Vizquel 2,877
5. Chipper Jones 2,726
6. Roberto Alomar 2,724
7. Max Carey 2,665
8. Tim Raines 2,605
9. Ted Simmons 2,472
10. Ozzie Smith 2,460



1. Mickey Mantle 536
2. Eddie Murray 504
3. Chipper Jones 468
4. Carlos Beltran 368
5. Lance Berkman 366
6. Mark Teixeira 358
7. Chili Davis 350
8. Reggie Smith 314
9. Ruben Sierra 306
10. Bernie Williams 287
10. Bobby Bonilla 287



1. Frankie Frisch .316
2. Victor Martinez .304
3. Chipper Jones .303 (.3034)
3. Pete Rose .303 (.3029)
5. Roberto Alomar .300
6. Mickey Mantle .298
7. Jose Vidro .298
8. Bernie Williams .297
9. Willie McGee .295
10. Bip Roberts .294 (.2942)
10. Tim Raines .294 (.2936)
10. Lance Berkman .294 (.2935)



1. Eddie Murray 1,917
2. Chipper Jones 1,623
3. Mickey Mantle 1,509
4. Ted Simmons 1,389
5. Chili Davis 1,372
6. Carlos Beltran 1,358
7. Ruben Sierra 1,322
8. Pete Rose 1,314
9. Bernie Williams 1,257
10. Frankie Frisch 1,244



1. Pete Rose 2,165
2. Mickey Mantle 1,676
3. Eddie Murray 1,627
4. Chipper Jones 1,619
5. Tim Raines 1,571
6. Max Carey 1,545
7. Frankie Frisch 1,532
8. Roberto Alomar 1,508
9. Omar Vizquel 1,445
10. Carlos Beltran 1,370

* Includes players only from the unified NL-AL era (1901-present) who played for a minimum of 10 seasons.

Photos: / / / Howard Simmons via

The Wildest Pitchers in Baseball History

Nolan Ryan Led The League In Wild Pitches Six Times

Nolan Ryan Led The League In Wild Pitches Six Times

Not wild, like party wild. Not wild, like big beards, purple parachute pants or daring ‘dos. Not wild, like Mitch Williams.

These guys threw the most wild pitches ever.

Not so wild they couldn’t make it in the big leagues or even just make the big leagues. Just the opposite. A handful are even Hall of Famers, including the wildest of them all, Nolan Ryan. The others are Phil Niekro, Steve Carlton, Gaylord Perry, Walter Johnson and Tom Seaver.

It helps to have a lengthy career. Most of these pitchers played nearly 20 years or more than 20.

Ryan missed the mitt 277 times, a full 51 more than second place, knuckler Niekro. Niekro is considered the best knuckle ball pitcher of all time and Ryan is baseball’s all-time strikeouts leader (and has a likely untouchable seven no-hitters).

Naturally, knuckle ballers pepper the list: both Niekros (brother Joe), Charlie Hough and Tim Wakefield.

It’s a colorful list of interesting players overall. They played all of their careers in the 20th and 21st centuries (no dudes from the 1800′s here). I excluded pitchers who accumulated wads of wild pitches before the unification of the National and American Leagues in 1901 (including Cy Young).

Most are right-handers. Then again, most pitchers have been right-handed.

And there’s one active. Where will A.J. Burnett finish up? He’s already in the top 10.

1. Nolan Ryan 277 R 1966, 1968-1993 New York Mets, California Angels, Houston Astros, Texas Rangers
2. Phil Niekro 226 R 1964-1987 Milwaukee/Atlanta Braves, New York Yankees, Cleveland Indians, Toronto Blue Jays
3. Jack Morris 206 R 1977-1994 Detroit Tigers, Minnesota Twins, Toronto Blue Jays, Cleveland Indians
4. Tommy John 187 L 1963-1974, 1976-1989 Cleveland Indians, Chicago White Sox, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Yankees, California Angels, Oakland A’s
5. Steve Carlton 183 L 1965-1988 St. Louis Cardinals, Philadelphia Phillies, San Francisco Giants, Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, Minnesota Twins
6. Charlie Hough 179 R 1970-1994 Los Angeles Dodgers, Texas Rangers, Chicago White Sox, Florida Marlins
7. Joe Niekro 172 R 1967-1988 Chicago Cubs, San Diego Padres, Detroit Tigers, Atlanta Braves, Houston Astros, New York Yankees, Minnesota Twins
8. Gaylord Perry 160 R 1962-1983 San Francisco Giants, Cleveland Indians, Texas Rangers, San Diego Padres, New York Yankees, Atlanta Braves, Seattle Mariners, Kansas City Royals
9. Walter Johnson 154 R 1907-1927 Washington Senators
10. A.J. Burnett 152 R 1999-present Florida Marlins, Toronto Blue Jays, New York Yankees, Pittsburgh Pirates, Philadelphia Phillies
11. David Cone 149 R 1986-2001, 2003 Kansas City Royals, New York Mets, Toronto Blue Jays, New York Yankees, Boston Red Sox
12. John Smoltz 145 R 1988-1999, 2001-2009 Atlanta Braves
13. Roger Clemens 143 R 1984-2007 Boston Red Sox, Toronto Blue Jays, New York Yankees, Houston Astros
14. Sam McDowell 140 L 1961-1975 Cleveland Indians, San Francisco Giants, New York Yankees, Pittsburgh Pirates
15. Mike Moore 135 R 1982-1995 Seattle Mariners, Oakland A’s, Detroit Tigers
16. Tim Wakefield 134 R 1992, 1993, 1995-2011 Pittsburgh Pirates, Boston Red Sox
17. Chuck Finley 130 L 1986-2002 California/Anaheim Angels, Cleveland Indians, St. Louis Cardinals
18. Bobby Witt 128 R 1986-2001 Texas Rangers, Oakland A’s, Florida Marlins, St. Louis Cardinals, Tampa Bay Devil Rays, Cleveland Indians, Arizona Diamondbacks
19. Jim Kaat 128 L 1959-1983 Washington Senators, Minnesota Twins, Chicago White Sox, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Yankees, St. Louis Cardinals
20. Tom Seaver 126 R 1967-1986 New York Mets, Cincinnati Reds, Chicago White Sox, Boston Red Sox



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

%d bloggers like this: