Category Archives: Alternative Sport

Happy 4th of July: Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners All-Time

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

We’re living in the Joey Chestnut era.

Chestnut has won his sixth Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest crown, in a row.

You may not know that this grand old 4th of July tradition has been going on long before the event’s two most popular and dominant contestants, Joey Chestnut and Takeru Kobayashi, took it to its greatest renown.

Kobayashi put the event on the map in the early 2000’s. Now it is an annual nationally-followed televised holiday sporting contest. Kobayashi has six titles too – all in a row, but now competes in a rival hot dog event.

Those two eaters have won the most, but there are many more winners you surely haven’t heard of from back in the 1970’s and 1980’s, years for which I can find records. Some of these guys won more than once, too. And looking at the list, you can see these multiple winners, for the most part, won back-to-back. Apparently one dominates the sport for a period and then it’s over, someone else takes over.

We’ll see if Joey Chestnut has what it takes to win his seventh title next year. Or will an upstart dethrone “Jaws?”

Here’s a list of those eaters with the most wins, including all the single winners, too.

The first contest was back in 1916 and it has run, informally and formally, since then (97 years).

Sonya Thomas, “The Black Widow,” has won the two women’s contests (2011, 2012), a new official tradition that began last year.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

UPDATED July 4, 2014: Joey Chestnut does it yet again – his astounding 8th win in a row.  On the women’s side, though, Miki Sudo upsets Sonya Thomas, the three-time reigning champion, to take the crown.

1. Joey Chestnut 8 2007-2014
2. Takeru Kobayashi 6 2001-2006
3. Sonya Thomas (Women’s) 3 2011-2013
3. Mike Devito 3 1990, 1993, 1994
5. Hirofumi Nakajima 2 1997, 1998
5. Ed Krachie 2 1995, 1996
5. Frank Dellarosa 2 1991, 1992
5. Jay Green 2 1988, 1989
9. Miki Sudo
1 2014
9. Kazutoyo Arai 1 2000
9. Steve Keiner 1 1999
9. Don Wolfman 1 1987
9. Mark Heller 1 1986
9. Oscar Rodriguez 1 1985
9. Birgit Felden 1 1984
9. Emil Gomez 1 1983
9. Steven Abrams 1 1982
9. Thomas DeBerry 1 1981
9. Paul Siederman 1 1980 (tie)
9. Joe Baldini 1 1980 (tie)
9. Thomas Stash 1 1979
9. Walter Paul 1 1978
9. Roberto Muriel 1 1974
9. Jason Schechter 1 1972
9. James Mullen 1 1916

Photo: /

Kate Upton and Every Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue Cover Girl (1964-2013)

Sultry Kate Upton is the 2012 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue Cover Girl

Sultry Kate Upton is the 2012 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue Cover Girl (

Here’s a Valentine’s Day post for ya…

Sports Illustrated has been publishing its world-famous Swimsuit Issue since 1964.

Here’s a look at all the cover girls.  Click on the model to see the cover.

Elle Macpherson has graced the most covers – 5.  Cheryl Tiegs, Christie Brinkley, Kathy Ireland and Daniela Pestova are next with three cover appearances apiece.  Eight others have appeared twice.

CHART UPDATED: Feb. 13, 2013, to include Kate Upton’s 2013 cover. Upton is now the ninth model to appear two times on the cover and the first to appear twice in a row by herself since Elle Macpherson in 1987 and 1988. (Original post above from Feb. 14, 2012).

2013 Kate Upton
2012 Kate Upton
2011 Irina Shayk
2010 Brooklyn Decker
2009 Bar Refaeli
2008 Marisa Miller
2007 Beyonce’
2006 Veronica Varekova, Elle Macpherson, Rebecca Romijn, Rachel Hunter, Daniela Pestova, Elsa Benitez, Carolyn Murphy, Yamila Diaz
2005 Carolyn Murphy
2004 Veronica Varekova
2003 Petra Nemcova
2002 Yamila Diaz
2001 Elsa Benitez
2000 Daniela Pestova
1999 Rebecca Romijn
1998 Heidi Klum
1997 Tyra Banks
1996 Valeria Mazza, Tyra Banks
1995 Daniela Pestova
1994 Elle Macpherson, Kathy Ireland, Rachel Hunter
1993 Vendela Kirsebom
1992 Kathy Ireland
1991 Ashley Montana
1990 Judit Masco
1989 Kathy Ireland
1988 Elle Macpherson
1987 Elle Macpherson
1986 Elle Macpherson
1985 Paulina Porizkova
1984 Paulina Porizkova
1983 Cheryl Tiegs
1982 Carol Alt
1981 Christie Brinkley
1980 Christie Brinkley
1979 Christie Brinkley
1978 Maria Joao
1977 Lena Hansbod
1976 Yvette & Yvonne Sylvander
1975 Cheryl Tiegs
1974 Ann Simonton
1973 Dayle Haddon
1972 Sheila Roscoe
1971 Tannia Rubiano
1970 Cheryl Tiegs
1969 Jamee Becker
1968 Turia Mau
1967 Lynn Tindall
1966 Sunny Bippus
1965 Sue Peterson
1964 Babette March

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

%d bloggers like this: