Blog Archives

Running Backs with the Most Rushing Touchdowns in a Game

Old-Time Great And Hall Of Famer, Ernie Nevers

Old-Time Great And Hall Of Famer, Ernie Nevers

Put the NFL (and fantasy football) on notice? In just his fourth pro game ever, New England Patriots‘ running back Jonas Gray ran for 199 yards and scored four touchdowns today against the Indianapolis Colts.

More than 50 RBs in the history of the game have rushed for four TDs in a single game, now including Gray.

Only seven have done better, and that’s including one player from the very first NFL season (1922) in a contest involving two teams that no longer exist, another from 1929 on the “Chicago” Cardinals and one AFL player.

Clearly, punching it in the end zone on foot more than four times in a game is just not something you see that often. We’ve been a bit lucky, though, as it’s also happened three times in the past two decades.

At the top of today’s list is the only running back to run it in a ridiculous six times. It’s Ernie Nevers on that Chicago team not named the Bears.

Everyone else here is at five, including The Man, Jim Brown.

1. Ernie Nevers 6 Chicago Cardinals Chicago Bears Nov. 28, 1929
2. Jimmy Conzelman 5 Rock Island Independents Evansville Crimson Giants Oct. 15, 1922
2. Jim Brown 5 Cleveland Browns Baltimore Colts Nov. 1, 1959
2. Cookie Gilchrist* 5 Buffalo Bills New York Jets Dec. 8, 1963
2. Ricky Watters 5 San Francisco 49ers New York Giants Jan. 15, 1994
2. James Stewart 5 Jacksonville Jaguars Philadelphia Eagles Oct. 12, 1997
2. Clinton Portis 5 Denver Broncos Kansas City Chiefs Dec. 7, 2003



Peyton Manning, Brett Favre and the Most Go-Ahead Touchdowns Thrown, Ever

Peyton Manning Takes The Lead (Again)

Peyton Manning Takes The Lead (Again)

Here’s a record on the verge of being broken, courtesy Peyton Manning (again). And the victim? Brett Favre (again).

According my source,‘s play index, these 20 quarterbacks have thrown the most go-ahead touchdowns – either to take the initial lead in a game or take the lead away during a game (regardless of the game’s final outcome) – in NFL history.

Favre and Manning are the only two QBs to grab the lead over 150 times, and right now, Manning needs to do it just two more times to take the historical lead. Doubtless, this record will be padded.

Drew Brees and Tom Brady, both a few years younger, might catch up to Favre, but by that time, Manning, assuming he keeps going after this season, might be too far away to reach.

1. Brett Favre 167 Green Bay Packers, New York Jets, Minnesota Vikings 1991-2010
2. Peyton Manning 166 Indianapolis Colts, Denver Broncos 1998-Present
3. Dan Marino 134 Miami Dolphins 1983-1999
4. Drew Brees 127 San Diego Chargers, New Orleans Saints 2001-Present
4. Fran Tarkenton 127 Minnesota Vikings, New York Giants 1961-1978
6. Tom Brady 120 New England Patriots 2000-Present
7. Johnny Unitas 111 Baltimore Colts 1956-1973
8. Joe Montana 103 San Francisco 49ers, Kansas City Chiefs 1979-1994
9. John Elway 103 Denver Broncos 1983-1998
10. Vinny Testaverde 97 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Cleveland Browns, Baltimore Ravens, New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys, Carolina Panthers 1987-2007
11. Drew Bledsoe 94 New England Patriots, Buffalo Bills, Dallas Cowboys 1993-2006
12. Sonny Jurgensen 93 Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins 1957-1974
13. Warren Moon 90 Houston Oilers, Minnesota Vikings, Seattle Seahawks 1984-2000
14. Ben Roethlisberger 87 Pittsburgh Steelers 2004-Present
14. Eli Manning 87 New York Giants 2004-Present
16. Philip Rivers 86 San Diego Chargers 2004-Present
16. Dave Krieg 86 Seattle Seahawks, Kansas City Chiefs, Detroit Lions, Arizona Cardinals, Chicago Bears 1980-1998
16. Tony Romo 86 Dallas Cowboys 2004-Present
16. Dan Fouts 86 San Diego Chargers 1973-1987
20. Carson Palmer 82 Cincinnati Bengals, Oakland Raiders, Arizona Cardinals 2004-Present

Check out my source, where, amazingly, you can see every single quarterback who ever threw even one go-ahead touchdown.


MLB: Managers with Multiple Manager of the Year Awards

Buck Showalter Wins His Third Manager Of The Year Award; Matt Williams, His First.

Buck Showalter Wins His Third Manager Of The Year Award; Matt Williams, His First.

Baltimore Orioles skipper Buck Showalter won his third Manager of the Year award today – and for his third AL team, no less (the Texas Rangers and New York Yankees, too). Showalter is tied with three other managers with three awards apiece.

The Manager of the Year award has been bestowed since just 1983. Only two have won four: two long-timers, Bobby Cox (30 years) and Tony LaRussa (35 years). Both won it in both leagues, LaRussa with three different teams.

Jim Leyland, Lou Piniella, Bob Melvin and Davey Johnson also won it in both leagues.

Here’s every manager that won MOY more than once.

1. Bobby Cox 4 2005 NL Atlanta Braves
2004 NL Atlanta Braves
1991 NL Atlanta Braves
1985 AL Toronto Blue Jays
1. Tony La Russa 4 2002 NL St. Louis Cardinals
1992 AL Oakland A’s
1988 AL Oakland A’s
1983 AL Chicago White Sox
3. Buck Showalter 3 2014 AL Baltimore Orioles
2004 AL Texas Rangers
1994 AL New York Yankees
3. Dusty Baker 3 2000 NL San Francisco Giants
1997 NL San Francisco Giants
1993 NL San Francisco Giants
3. Jim Leyland 3 1992 NL Pittsburgh Pirates
1990 NL Pittsburgh Pirates
2006 AL Detroit Tigers
3. Lou Piniella 3 2008 NL Chicago Cubs
2001 AL Seattle Mariners
1995 AL Seattle Mariners
7. Bob Melvin 2 2007 NL Arizona Diamondbacks
2012 AL Oakland A’s
7. Davey Johnson 2 2012 NL Washington Nationals
1997 AL Baltimore Orioles
7. Jack McKeon 2 2003 NL Florida Marlins
1999 NL Cincinnati Reds
7. Joe Maddon 2 2011 AL Tampa Bay Rays
2008 AL Tampa Bay Rays
7. Joe Torre 2 1998 AL New York Yankees
1996 AL New York Yankees
7. Mike Scioscia 2 2009 AL Los Angeles Angels
2002 AL Anaheim Angels
7. Sparky Anderson 2 1987 AL Detroit Tigers
1984 AL Detroit Tigers
7. Tom Lasorda 2 1988 NL Los Angeles Dodgers
1983 NL Los Angeles Dodgers

Photos: Kathy Willens, AP via / Christian Petersen, Getty via


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

%d bloggers like this: