Blog Archives

Tom Brady, Joe Montana and Players with Multiple Super Bowl MVPs

Tom Brady And Joe Montana Have Won Three Super Bowl MVPs

Tom Brady And Joe Montana Have Won Three Super Bowl MVPs

Let’s wrap up the football season here at Sports List of the Day (sure, there’ll be a new NFL post around here and there) – but with the Super Bowl and the 2014 season over, here’s one for the road (or offseason, if you will).

More than half (27) of the Super Bowl MVPs have been quarterbacks. Aside from spectacular performances and directing the offense, they are occasionally the default choice.

With those kind of odds, it’s not a great surprise that all five players who have taken the Super Bowl MVP more than once (not easy to do considering you actually have to win the Super Bowl more than once in the first place) are quarterbacks.

Tom Brady won his third yesterday, continuing the career comparison with another three-time SB MVP winner, Joe Montana.

Eli Manning took both awards in the New York Giants‘ two wins over Brady’s New England Patriots.

Terry Bradshaw won two MVP’s out of his four wins with the Pittsburgh Steelers, and Bart Starr won his back-to-back in the first two Super Bowls.

1. Tom Brady 3 New England Patriots XXXVI (2001) 16/27 145 1/0
        XXXVIII (2003) 32/48 354 3/1
        XLIX (2014) 37/50 328 4/2
1. Joe Montana 3 San Francisco 49ers XVI (1981) 14/22 157 1/0
        XIX (1984) 24/35 331 3/0
        XXIV (1989) 22/29 297 5/0
3. Eli Manning 2 New York Giants XLII (2007) 19/34 255 2/1
        XLVI (2011) 30/40 296 1/0
3. Terry Bradshaw 2 Pittsburgh Steelers XIII (1978) 17/30 318 4/1
        XIV (1979) 14/21 309 2/3
3. Bart Starr 2 Green Bay Packers I (1966) 16/23 250 2/1
        II (1967) 13/24 202 1/0


Quarterbacks and Super Bowl MVP’s by Position

And He's Gone...Desmond Howard Returns It 99 Yards For The TD And Takes Home Super Bowl XXXI MVP

And He’s Gone…Desmond Howard Returns It 99 Yards For The TD And Takes Home Super Bowl XXXI MVP

It’s Super Bowl Sunday! Thanks for following Sports List of the Day throughout all the NFL playoffs!

Today, let’s look at the Super Bowl MVP.

Tom Brady has won his third today with a 328-yard, four touchdown performance (multiple winners here) – it’s the 27th time the award has gone to the quarterback, most of any position by far.

Twenty different QBs have won. If there’s no conspicuous standout by the end of the game, often the award goes to the quarterback, so that helps up the numbers.

Hard to believe, but only seven running backs have won the SB MVP – none in 18 years. Wow. Who would think that? So much for the critical running game in winning a title, at least in today’s game.

Nine defensive players have won it, divided amongst four positions, and Desmond Howard‘s big Super Bowl XXXI, capped off by a 99-yard kick return touchdown to put away the New England Patriots, puts one in the KR column.

Check out all the MVPs’ statistical highlights at my source,

1. QB 27 Tom Brady New England Patriots XLIX 2014
Joe Flacco Baltimore Ravens XLVII 2012
Eli Manning New York Giants XLVI 2011
Aaron Rodgers Green Bay Packers XLV 2010
Drew Brees New Orleans Saints XLIV 2009
Eli Manning New York Giants XLII 2007
Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts XLI 2006
Tom Brady New England Patriots XXXVIII 2003
Tom Brady New England Patriots XXXVI 2001
Kurt Warner St. Louis Rams XXXIV 1999
John Elway Denver Broncos XXXIII 1998
Steve Young San Francisco 49ers XXIX 1994
Troy Aikman Dallas Cowboys XXVII 1992
Mark Rypien Washington Redskins XXVI 1991
Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers XXIV 1989
Doug Williams Washington Redskins XXII 1987
Phil Simms New York Giants XXI 1986
Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers XIX 1984
Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers XVI 1981
Jim Plunkett Oakland Raiders XV 1980
Terry Bradshaw Pittsburgh Steelers XIV 1979
Terry Bradshaw Pittsburgh Steelers XIII 1978
Roger Staubach Dallas Cowboys VI 1971
Len Dawson Kansas City Chiefs IV 1969
Joe Namath New York Jets III 1968
Bart Starr Green Bay Packers II 1967
Bart Starr Green Bay Packers I 1966
2. RB 7 Terrell Davis Denver Broncos XXXII 1997
Emmitt Smith Dallas Cowboys XXVIII 1993
Ottis Anderson New York Giants XXV 1990
Marcus Allen Los Angeles Raiders XVIII 1983
John Riggins Washington Redskins XVII 1982
Franco Harris Pittsburgh Steelers IX 1974
Larry Csonka Miami Dolphins VIII 1973
3. WR 6 Santonio Holmes Pittsburgh Steelers XLIII 2008
Hines Ward Pittsburgh Steelers XL 2005
Deion Branch New England Patriots XXXIX 2004
Jerry Rice San Francisco 49ers XXIII 1988
Fred Biletnikoff Oakland Raiders XI 1976
Lynn Swann Pittsburgh Steelers X 1975
4. DB 3 Dexter Jackson Tampa Bay Buccaneers XXXVII 2002
Larry Brown Dallas Cowboys XXX 1995
Jake Scott Miami Dolphins VII 1972
4. LB 3 Malcolm Smith Seattle Seahawks XLVIII 2013
Ray Lewis Baltimore Ravens XXXV 2000
Chuck Howley Baltimore Colts V 1970
6. DE 2 Richard Dent Chicago Bears XX 1985
Harvey Martin (T) Dallas Cowboys XII 1977
7. DT 1 Randy White (T) Dallas Cowboys XII 1977
7. KR/PR 1 Desmond Howard Green Bay Packers XXXI 1996

Photo: Andy Kuno via

Super Bowl Comebacks: Teams That Took the Lead with Final Score

Tom Brady And The New England Patriots Won The Super Bowl In The Final Seconds...Twice Off The Foot Of Adam Vinatieri

Tom Brady And The New England Patriots Won The Super Bowl In The Final Seconds…Twice – Off The Foot Of Adam Vinatieri


Enjoy the game!


1. V 1970 Baltimore Colts 16 Dallas Cowboys 13 With the score tied 13-13, Jim O’Brien kicks 32-yard field goal
2. XXIII 1988 San Francisco 49ers 20 Cincinnati Bengals 16 With the Bengals up 16-13, Joe Montana hits John Taylor for a 10-Yard TD
3. XXV 1990 New York Giants 20 Buffalo Bills 19 With the Bills up 19-17, Matt Bahr kicks 21-yard field goal
4. XXXII 1997 Denver Broncos 31 Green Bay Packers 24 With the score tied 24-24, Terrell Davis runs it in from 1 yard
5. XXXIV 1999 St. Louis Rams 23 Tennessee Titans 16 With the score tied 16-16, Kurt Warner hits Isaac Bruce for a 73-Yard TD
6. XXXVI 2001 New England Patriots 20 St. Louis Rams 17 With the score tied 17-17, Adam Vinatieri kicks 48-yard FG
7. XXXVIII 2003 New England Patriots 32 Carolina Panthers 29 With the score tied 29-29, Adam Vinatieri kicks 41-yard FG
8. XLII 2007 New York Giants 17 New England Patriots 14 With the Patriots up 14-10, Eli Manning hits Plaxico Burress for a 13-yard TD
9. XLIII 2008 Pittsburgh Steelers 27 Arizona Cardinals 23 With the Cardinals up 23-20, Ben Roethlisberger hits Santonio Holmes for a 6-yard TD
10. XLVI 2011 New York Giants 21 New England Patriots 17 With the Patriots up 17-15, Ahmad Bradshaw runs it in from 6 yards



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

%d bloggers like this: