Blog Archives

NFL: Tight Ends with the Most Receiving Touchdowns (Career)

Antonio Gates, Superman

Antonio Gates, Superman

The tight end watch is getting really interesting. Already this season, Jason Witten became only the third tight end in NFL history to breach the 10,000-receiving yards plateau. He’s now second all-time behind Tony Gonzalez after surpassing Shannon Sharpe just yesterday.

Twelve-year San Diego Chargers tight end Antonio Gates is now at 9,556 yards and needs to average just 50 yards a game the remainder of this season to become the fourth member of the 10,000-yard club.

Check out the top 20 tight ends with the most career receiving yards in this previous post. There are a couple more actives on the list.

When it comes to tight ends with the most career receiving touchdowns, there are definitely some differences.

It’s still Gonzalez at the top (he is arguably the greatest offensive TE, ever), but it’s Gates this time who’s actually pretty close to topping the record, as opposed to Witten (much farther)  in the yards chase. No way Gates will do it this season – he still needs 18 TDs to break the record. So it will be dependent on whether he returns for 2015. That would most certainly clinch it.

Witten, a little surprisingly, is seventh all-time, behind even the San Francisco 49ersVernon Davis.

Rob Gronkowski already has 46 touchdowns and just made the pros in 2010. Jimmy Graham has 44 and also came through in 2010. These guys have a long way to go yet in the yards department, far below their more aggressive TD pace (but understandable given the short sample of about 3.5 seasons).

Makes you think…there are three kinds of “offensively-performing tight end types”: those who specialize more in scoring, those who collect yards (and probably rescue the quarterback quite often) and the elite who do both.

1. Tony Gonzalez 111 1997 2013
2. Antonio Gates 94 2003 Present
3. Shannon Sharpe 62 1990 2003
4. Jerry Smith 60 1965 1977
5. Vernon Davis 55 2006 Present
6. Wesley Walls 54 1989 2003
7. Dallas Clark 53 2003 2013
7. Jason Witten 53 2003 Present
9. Dave Casper 52 1974 1984
10. Ben Coates 50 1991 2000
11. Keith Jackson 49 1988 1996
12. Raymond Chester 48 1970 1981
13. Ozzie Newsome 47 1978 1990
14. Rob Gronkowski 46 2010 Present
15. Rich Caster 45 1970 1982
15. Kellen Winslow 45 1979 1987
17. Jimmy Graham 44 2010 Present
18. Mike Ditka 43 1961 1972
19. Paul Coffman 42 1978 1988
19. Todd Heap 42 2001 2012

Photo: K.C. Alfred via

NFL: Top 20 Players with the Most Rushing Touchdowns on Monday Night Football

Emmitt Smith Stomped Into The End Zone On Monday Nights More Than Anybody Else

Emmitt Smith Stomped Into The End Zone On Monday Nights More Than Anybody Else

The NFL’s all-time leader in rushing touchdowns, Emmitt Smith, also has the most rushing touchdowns on Monday Night Football – the only player with over 20 TDs on the ground.

Those MNF scores are hard to come by, many of them depending on how good your team is (and if it’s been deemed worthy of the spotlight). Only seven running backs have managed 10 or more.

And unlike quarterbacks with the most passing touchdowns on Monday night – a list that includes Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, Drew Brees, Philip Rivers and Eli Manning – only one (barely) active player (and not even a running back, at that) makes today’s list. It’s New York Jets‘ backup QB, Michael Vick.

1. Emmitt Smith 23 1990-2004 Dallas Cowboys 25
2. Marcus Allen 17 1982-1997 Oakland Raiders, Kansas City Chiefs 27
3. Eric Dickerson 14 1983-1993 Los Angeles Rams, Indianapolis Colts 14
4. John Riggins 13 1971-1985 New York Jets, Washington Redskins 17
5. Terrell Davis 10 1995-2001 Denver Broncos 13
5. Ahman Green 10 1998-2009 Green Bay Packers 15
5. Chuck Muncie 10 1976-1984 New Orleans Saints, San Diego Chargers 9
8. Ottis Anderson 9 1979-1992 St. Louis Cardinals, New York Giants 13
8. Jerome Bettis 9 1993-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers 17
8. James Brooks 9 1981-1992 San Diego Chargers, Cincinnati Bengals 18
8. Earl Campbell 9 1978-1985 Houston Oilers 9
8. Tony Dorsett 9 1977-1988 Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos 25
8. Franco Harris 9 1972-1984 Pittsburgh Steelers 19
8. Edgerrin James 9 1999-2009 Indianapolis Colts, Arizona Cardinals 10
8. Joe Morris 9 1982-1991 New York Giants 12
8. Steve Young (QB) 9 1985-1999 San Francisco 49ers 25
17. Pete Banaszak 8 1966-1978 Oakland Raiders 11
17. Dorsey Levens 8 1994-2004 Green Bay Packers, Philadelphia Eagles 20
17. Curtis Martin 8 1995-2005 New England Patirots, New York Jets 14
17. Donovan McNabb (QB) 8 1999-2011 Philadelphia Eagles 17
17. Michael Vick (QB) 8 2001-Present Atlanta Falcons, Philadelphia Eagles 10

Thanks to the best football reference site on the Web,, where I ran this query, and where you can see everybody ever who ran it in on a Monday night.

Photo: Tim Sharp, AP via

NFL Running Backs with the Most Long Rushing Touchdowns: 50 Yards or More, Regular Season

Barry Sanders Busting Out On Another One Of Those Long Touchdown Runs

Barry Sanders Busting Out On Another One Of Those Long Touchdown Runs

It’s part two of Sports List of the Day‘s three-part look at players with the most long touchdowns. Yesterday, we saw quarterbacks with the most long passing TDs. Today, how about running backs with rushing touchdowns of 50 yards or more?

And who has the most? Barry Sanders, with 15.

And, sadly on many fronts, who was poised to break that record, but might not get the chance (and certainly won’t in 2014, it is becoming apparent)? Adrian Peterson.

The great Jim Brown (high on just about every important career rushing list) and current New York Jet Chris Johnson are the only other two running backs in NFL history with 10 or more rushing touchdowns of at least 50 yards.

Recognize any of your personal fantasy RBs below? Some of these guys may not be the best running backs of all time (and most will never whiff the Hall of Fame), but surely they were go-to or filler players for your teams over the past 10+ years – Ahman Green, Fred Taylor, Warrick Dunn, Napoleon Kaufman and even actives MJD and DeAngelo Williams.

Hopefully you were playing them when they had their big runs.

Tomorrow, part three – receivers!

1. Barry Sanders 15 Detroit Lions 1989-1998
2. Adrian Peterson 13 Minnesota Vikings 2007-Present*
3. Jim Brown 12 Cleveland Browns 1957-1965
4. Chris Johnson 11 Tennessee Titans 2008-Present
5. Ollie Matson 8 St. Louis Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, Philadelphia Eagles 1952-1966
5. Lenny Moore 8 Baltimore Colts 1956-1967
5. O.J. Simpson 8 Buffalo Bills 1969-1976
5. Robert Smith 8 Minnesota Vikings 1993-2000
5. Fred Taylor 8 Jacksonville Jaguars 1998-2010
10. Ahman Green 7 Green Bay Packers 1998-2009
10. Maurice Jones-Drew 7 Jacksonville Jaguars 2006-Present
10. DeAngelo Williams 7 Carolina Panthers 2006-Present
13. Tiki Barber 6 New York Giants 1997-2006
13. Jamaal Charles 6 Kansas City Chiefs 2008-Present
13. Terrell Davis 6 Denver Broncos 1995-2001
13. Tony Dorsett 6 Dallas Cowboys 1977-1988
13. Warrick Dunn 6 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Atlanta Falcons 1997-2008
13. Napoleon Kaufman 6 Oakland Raiders 1995-2000
13. Joe Perry 6 San Francisco 49ers 1948-1963
13. Emmitt Smith 6 Dallas Cowboys 1990-2004
13. LaDainian Tomlinson 6 San Diego Chargers 2001-2011



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

%d bloggers like this: