PGA Championship Winners Not From the U.S.A.

Martin Kaymer 2010 PGA Championship Winner

Martin Kaymer 2010 PGA Championship Winner (Getty)

The PGA championship has been played since 1916.  This year’s tournament at the Atlanta Athletic Club in Georgia is the 93rd iteration.

There have been two different formats to this major, the fourth and last of the year.  From 1916 to 1957 it was a match-play event.  Starting in 1958, the tournament has been scored by strokes from par.

Walter Hagen has the most PGA Championship wins in the match-play era, with 5.  Jack Nicklaus has 5 too, during stroke play.

Tiger Woods is next.  He’s won it 4 times.

Of the 93 PGA championships played, only 11 winners have not been U.S. citizens – including the last three in a row (all from first-time countries). Together they won the PGA 15 times.

LIST UPDATED through the 2012 PGA Championship.

1. Jim Barnes England 1916, 1919
2. Jim Ferrier Australia 1947
3. Gary Player South Africa 1962, 1972
4. David Graham Australia 1979
5. Wayne Grady Australia 1990
6. Nick Price Zimbabwe 1992, 1994
7. Steve Elkington Australia 1995
8. Vijay Singh Fiji 1998, 2004
9. Padraig Harrington Ireland 2008
10. Yang Yong-eun South Korea 2009
11. Martin Kaymer Germany 2010
12. Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland 2012

Posted on August 11, 2011, in PGA Golf and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: