NHL: Stanley Cup Playoff MVPs (Conn Smythe Trophy Winners) – By Team, Position and More

Patrick Roy Wins His Third Conn Smythe (and Fourth Stanley Cup)

Patrick Roy Wins His Third Conn Smythe (and Fourth Stanley Cup)

The Conn Smythe Trophy (MVP of the NHL Playoffs) has been awarded since the 1964-65 postseason, when Canadiens‘ center Jean Beliveau took home the first.

Five times in its history, the trophy has been awarded to a player on a losing team.

The Montreal Canadiens have the most, 9, followed by the Detroit Red Wings at 5.

Here’s a little Conn Smythe analysis: all the Conn Smythe winners, by team and by position. Plus, winners with the most (five have won it more than once) and finally a list of those five from losing teams.

Thanks to my source hockey-reference.com where you can see a straight-up chronological listing of all the Stanley Cup Playoff MVPs and their stats.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.


Montreal Canadiens 9 Patrick Roy G 1992-93
    Patrick Roy G 1985-86
    Bob Gainey LW 1978-79
    Larry Robinson D 1977-78
    Guy Lafleur RW 1976-77
    Yvan Cournoyer RW 1972-73
    Ken Dryden G 1970-71
    Serge Savard D 1968-69
    Jean Beliveau C 1964-65
Detroit Red Wings 5 Henrik Zetterberg LW 2007-08
    Nicklas Lidstrom D 2001-02
    Steve Yzerman C 1997-98
    Mike Vernon G 1996-97
    Roger Crozier G 1965-66
Edmonton Oilers 4 Bill Ranford G 1989-90
    Wayne Gretzky C 1987-88
    Wayne Gretzky C 1984-85
    Mark Messier LW 1983-84
New York Islanders 4 Billy Smith G 1982-83
    Mike Bossy RW 1981-82
    Butch Goring C 1980-81
    Bryan Trottier C 1979-80
Philadelphia Flyers 4 Ron Hextall G 1986-87
    Reggie Leach RW 1975-76
    Bernie Parent G 1974-75
    Bernie Parent G 1973-74
Boston Bruins 3 Tim Thomas G 2010-11
    Bobby Orr D 1971-72
    Bobby Orr D 1969-70
Pittsburgh Penguins 3 Evgeni Malkin C 2008-09
    Mario Lemieux C 1991-92
    Mario Lemieux C 1990-91
Anaheim Ducks 2 Scott Niedermayer D 2006-07
    Jean-Sebastien Giguere G 2002-03
Colorado Avalanche 2 Patrick Roy G 2000-01
    Joe Sakic C 1995-96
New Jersey Devils 2 Scott Stevens D 1999-00
    Claude Lemieux LW 1994-95
Carolina Hurricanes 1 Cam Ward G 2005-06
Calgary Flames 1 Al MacInnis D 1988-89
Chicago Blackhawks 1 Jonathan Toews C 2009-10
Dallas Stars 1 Joe Nieuwendyk C 1998-99
New York Rangers 1 Brian Leetch D 1993-94
St. Louis Blues 1 Glenn Hall G 1967-68
Tampa Bay Lightning 1 Brad Richards C 2003-04
Toronto Maple Leafs 1 Dave Keon C 1966-67


Goalie 15 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins 2010-11
    Cam Ward Carolina Panthers 2005-06
    Jean-Sebastien Giguere Mighty Ducks of Anaheim 2002-03
    Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche 2000-01
    Mike Vernon Detroit Red Wings 1996-97
    Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens 1992-93
    Bill Ranford Edmonton Oilers 1989-90
    Ron Hextall Philadelphia Flyers 1986-87
    Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens 1985-86
    Billy Smith New York Islanders 1982-83
    Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers 1974-75
    Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers 1973-74
    Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens 1970-71
    Glenn Hall St. Louis Blues 1967-68
    Roger Crozier Detroit Red Wings 1965-66
Center 14 Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks 2009-10
    Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins 2008-09
    Brad Richards Tampa Bay Lightning 2003-04
    Joe Nieuwendyk Dallas Stars 1998-99
    Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings 1997-98
    Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche 1995-96
    Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins 1991-92
    Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins 1990-91
    Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers 1987-88
    Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers 1984-85
    Butch Goring New York Islanders 1980-81
    Bryan Trottier New York Islanders 1979-80
    Dave Keon Toronto Maple Leafs 1966-67
    Jean Beliveau Montreal Canadiens 1964-65
Defenseman 9 Scott Niedermayer Anaheim Mighty Ducks 2006-07
    Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings 2001-02
    Scott Stevens New Jersey Devils 1999-00
    Brian Leetch New York Rangers 1993-94
    Al MacInnis Calgary Flames 1988-89
    Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens 1977-78
    Bobby Orr Boston Bruins 1971-72
    Bobby Orr Boston Bruins 1969-70
    Serge Savard Montreal Canadiens 1968-69
Left Wing 4 Henrik Zetterberg Detroit Red Wings 2007-08
    Claude Lemieux New Jersey Devils 1994-95
    Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers 1983-84
    Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens 1978-79
Right Wing 4 Mike Bossy New York Islanders 1981-82
    Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens 1976-77
    Reggie Leach Philadelphia Flyers 1975-76
    Yvan Cournoyer Montreal Canadiens 1972-73


Patrick Roy 3 G Colorado Avalanche 2000-01
      Montreal Canadiens 1992-93
      Montreal Canadiens 1985-86
Wayne Gretzky 2 C Edmonton Oilers 1987-88
      Edmonton Oilers 1984-85
Mario Lemieux 2 C Pittsburgh Penguins 1991-92
      Pittsburgh Penguins 1990-91
Bobby Orr 2 D Boston Bruins 1971-72
      Boston Bruins 1969-70
Bernie Parent 2 G Philadelphia Flyers 1974-75
      Philadelphia Flyers 1973-74


Roger Crozier G 1966 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens
Glenn Hall G 1968 St. Louis Blues Montreal Canadiens
Reggie Leach RW 1976 Philadelphia Flyers Montreal Canadiens
Ron Hextall G 1987 Philadelphia Flyers Edmonton Oilers
Jean-Sebastien Giguere G 2003 Might Ducks of Anaheim New Jersey Devils

Photo: proicehockey.about.com


Posted on May 19, 2012, in NHL Hockey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: