Happy 4th of July: Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners All-Time

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

We’re living in the Joey Chestnut era.

Chestnut has won his sixth Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest crown, in a row.

You may not know that this grand old 4th of July tradition has been going on long before the event’s two most popular and dominant contestants, Joey Chestnut and Takeru Kobayashi, took it to its greatest renown.

Kobayashi put the event on the map in the early 2000’s. Now it is an annual nationally-followed televised holiday sporting contest. Kobayashi has six titles too – all in a row, but now competes in a rival hot dog event.

Those two eaters have won the most, but there are many more winners you surely haven’t heard of from back in the 1970’s and 1980’s, years for which I can find records. Some of these guys won more than once, too. And looking at the list, you can see these multiple winners, for the most part, won back-to-back. Apparently one dominates the sport for a period and then it’s over, someone else takes over.

We’ll see if Joey Chestnut has what it takes to win his seventh title next year. Or will an upstart dethrone “Jaws?”

Here’s a list of those eaters with the most wins, including all the single winners, too.

The first contest was back in 1916 and it has run, informally and formally, since then (97 years).

Sonya Thomas, “The Black Widow,” has won the two women’s contests (2011, 2012), a new official tradition that began last year.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

UPDATED July 4, 2014: Joey Chestnut does it yet again – his astounding 8th win in a row.  On the women’s side, though, Miki Sudo upsets Sonya Thomas, the three-time reigning champion, to take the crown.

1. Joey Chestnut 8 2007-2014
2. Takeru Kobayashi 6 2001-2006
3. Sonya Thomas (Women’s) 3 2011-2013
3. Mike Devito 3 1990, 1993, 1994
5. Hirofumi Nakajima 2 1997, 1998
5. Ed Krachie 2 1995, 1996
5. Frank Dellarosa 2 1991, 1992
5. Jay Green 2 1988, 1989
9. Miki Sudo
1 2014
9. Kazutoyo Arai 1 2000
9. Steve Keiner 1 1999
9. Don Wolfman 1 1987
9. Mark Heller 1 1986
9. Oscar Rodriguez 1 1985
9. Birgit Felden 1 1984
9. Emil Gomez 1 1983
9. Steven Abrams 1 1982
9. Thomas DeBerry 1 1981
9. Paul Siederman 1 1980 (tie)
9. Joe Baldini 1 1980 (tie)
9. Thomas Stash 1 1979
9. Walter Paul 1 1978
9. Roberto Muriel 1 1974
9. Jason Schechter 1 1972
9. James Mullen 1 1916

Photo: whtc.com / nydailynews.com


Posted on July 4, 2012, in Alternative Sport and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: