St. Louis Cardinals and Teams with the Most N.L. Central Titles

The St. Louis Cardinals Own the N.L. Central - in 2013 and Overall

The St. Louis Cardinals Own the N.L. Central – in 2013 and Overall

Major League Baseball‘s Central Divisions have only been around since 1994 – the first year that employed wild cards. That season never reached its conclusion, though. A player’s strike ended it after about 114-115 games. For the first time since 1904, there was no postseason.

Still, the Cincinnati Reds were crowned the Central champs, one of their four titles.

But it is those St. Louis Cardinals (doing great things again) who have the most Central flags – eight, including this season.

The 2006 Cardinals are the only N.L Central champions to win the World Series (out of 18 for the division, not including this year – we’ll see…)

The Houston Astros aren’t even in the National League anymore and the no-longer-lowly Pittsburgh Pirates haven’t been over .500 the whole time (until this year).

Looks like the Cards will be owning this division for a while.

1. St. Louis Cardinals 8 1996, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006*, 2009, 2013
2. Cincinnati Reds 4 1994, 1995, 2010, 2012
2. Houston Astros 4 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001
4. Chicago Cubs 3 2003, 2007, 2008
5. Milwaukee Brewers 1 2011

Photo: Jeff Roberson via


Posted on September 28, 2013, in MLB Baseball and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This division (NL Central) has 23 World Series titles (not 18).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: