NBA: The 20 Most Efficient Seasons of All Time (Best PER)

Wilt Chamberlain, Michael Jordan and LeBron James Are the Only Three Players Ever To Break the 31-PER Barrier

Wilt Chamberlain, Michael Jordan and LeBron James Are the Only Three Players Ever To Break the 31-PER Barrier

As the pic says – Wilt “The Stilt” Chamberlain, Michael “Air” Jordan and LeBron “King” James are the only three NBAers to mark a single-season efficiency rating (PER) over 31, and here’s the twist…

Each have done it more than once: LeBron twice, Wilt thrice and Michael four times.

Together, these three alone also make up all of the top 10 most efficient seasons ever.

Jordan leads all comers with six appearances amongst the top 20 below.

Where’s Kobe Bryant? Not on the list. Not being a hater at all. Just the facts. Michael Jordan is the G.O.A.T.

But who else is on the list?

How about Chris Paul and Tracy McGrady? Those are a couple surprises, though Paul will probably make the Hall of Fame.

Then, you have Hall of Famers (or definite to-be Hall of Famers) David Robinson, Shaquille O’Neal, Dwyane Wade and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

By the way, how far ahead of his contemporaries was Chamberlain? No one else pre-1971 made the cut.

1. Wilt Chamberlain 31.82 1962-63  San Francisco Warriors
2. Wilt Chamberlain 31.74 1961-62  Philadelphia Warriors
3. Michael Jordan 31.71 1987-88  Chicago Bulls
4. LeBron James 31.67 2008-09  Cleveland Cavaliers
5. Michael Jordan 31.63 1990-91  Chicago Bulls
5. Wilt Chamberlain 31.63 1963-64  San Francisco Warriors
7. Michael Jordan 31.18 1989-90  Chicago Bulls
8. Michael Jordan 31.14 1988-89  Chicago Bulls
9. LeBron James 31.11 2009-10  Cleveland Cavaliers
10. LeBron James 30.74 2011-12  Miami Heat
11. David Robinson 30.66 1993-94  San Antonio Spurs
12. Shaquille O’Neal 30.65 1999-00  Los Angeles Lakers
13. Shaquille O’Neal 30.55 1998-99  Los Angeles Lakers
14. Dwyane Wade 30.36 2008-09  Miami Heat
15. Tracy McGrady 30.27 2002-03  Orlando Magic
16. Shaquille O’Neal 30.23 2000-01  Los Angeles Lakers
17. Chris Paul 29.96 2008-09  New Orleans Hornets
18. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar 29.94 1971-72  Milwaukee Bucks
19. Michael Jordan 29.78 1986-87  Chicago Bulls
20. Michael Jordan 29.70 1992-93  Chicago Bulls

Photos: / /


Posted on November 14, 2013, in NBA Basketball and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: