NHL: Top 20 Skaters with the Most Penalty Minutes in a Season

Dave Schultz Put Up 472 Penalty Minutes In The Philadelphia Flyers' 1974-75 Championship Season. No One Else Has Come Close.

Dave Schultz Put Up 472 Penalty Minutes In The Philadelphia Flyers’ 1974-75 Championship Season. No One Else Has Come Close.

Three skaters in NHL history have topped the 400 penalty-minute mark in a single season.

Dave “The Hammer” Schultz, left winger for the back-to-back champion Philadelphia Flyers of the early 1970s, did it twice. Schultz is the single-season record holder by over 60 minutes, just 28 minutes short of 500 – a huge number. His 472 penalty minutes in 1974-75 equates to nearly eight full team games.

Schultz added another 405 minutes in 1977-78 as a member of the Los Angeles Kings and Pittsburgh Penguins.

Paul Baxter and Mike Peluso join Schultz as the other two skaters with over 400 penalty minutes in a single campaign.

Below are the top 20 NHLers slammed with the most penalty minutes in a season. For the most career penalty minutes all time, check out this previous post: The 20 Biggest Goons in Hockey History – led by the consistently bruising Tiger Williams, who also features in today’s list (at number 17).

Thanks to my source, hockey-reference.com.

1. Dave Schultz  472 1974-75 LW Philadelphia Flyers
2. Paul Baxter  409 1981-82 D Pittsburgh Penguins
3. Mike Peluso  408 1991-92 LW Chicago Blackhawks
4. Dave Schultz  405 1977-78 LW Los Angeles Kings / Pittsburgh Penguins
5. Marty McSorley  399 1992-93 D Los Angeles Kings
6. Bob Probert  398 1987-88 LW Detroit Red Wings
7. Basil McRae  382 1987-88 LW Minnesota North Stars
8. Joe Kocur  377 1985-86 RW Detroit Red Wings
9. Tim Hunter  375 1988-89 RW Calgary Flames
10. Donald Brashear  372 1997-98 LW Vancouver Canucks
11. Gino Odjick  371 1996-97 RW Vancouver Canucks
12. Steve Durbano  370 1975-76 D Pittsburgh Penguins / Kansas City Scouts
12. Gino Odjick  370 1992-93 RW Vancouver Canucks
14. Tie Domi  365 1997-98 RW Toronto Maple Leafs
14. Basil McRae  365 1988-89 LW Minnesota North Stars
16. Tim Hunter  361 1986-87 RW Calgary Flames
17. Chris Nilan  358 1984-85 RW Montreal Canadiens
17. Tiger Williams  358 1986-87 LW Los Angeles Kings
17. Torrie Robertson  358 1985-86 LW Hartford Whalers
20. Brian Curran  356 1986-87 D New York Islanders

Photo: terrybender.com

Posted on December 10, 2013, in NHL Hockey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

%d bloggers like this: