Daily Archives: January 21, 2014

Countries with the Most Australian Open Titles (Singles, Men and Women)

Andre Agassi Was The Last American To Win The Australian Open...Over A Decade Ago

Andre Agassi Was The Last American To Win The Australian Open…Over A Decade Ago

OK…so the Super Bowl is in two weeks. I don’t want to inundate you with NFL post after NFL post. There are already nearly 200 of them for you to peruse along the way (click on the category to your right). A bunch cover the postseason, and there are plenty of new ones on the way over the next two weeks.

But today, let’s take a small tennis break and check in on a serious sporting event – a major is going on, on the South side of the world. It’s the Australian Open, reminding most of us in the Northern Hemisphere of hot days and warm nights.

Here are all the winners, men and women, by country, since the Open era “opened” in 1969.


1.  USA 14 2003 Andre Agassi Rainer Schüttler  Germany
      2001 Andre Agassi Arnaud Clément  France
      2000 Andre Agassi Yevgeny Kafelnikov  Russia
      1997 Pete Sampras Carlos Moyá  Spain
      1995 Andre Agassi Pete Sampras  USA
      1994 Pete Sampras Todd Martin  USA
      1993 Jim Courier Stefan Edberg  Sweden
      1992 Jim Courier Stefan Edberg  Sweden
      1982 Johan Kriek Steve Denton  USA
      1980 Brian Teacher Kim Warwick  Australia
      1977 Roscoe Tanner Guillermo Vilas  Argentina
      1977 Vitas Gerulaitis John Lloyd  England
      1974 Jimmy Connors Phil Dent  Australia
      1970 Arthur Ashe Dick Crealy  Australia
2. Sweden 6 2002 Thomas Johansson Marat Safin  Russia
      1988 Mats Wilander Pat Cash  Australia
      1987 Stefan Edberg Pat Cash  Australia
      1985 Stefan Edberg Mats Wilander  Sweden
      1984 Mats Wilander Kevin Curren  South Africa
      1983 Mats Wilander Ivan Lendl  Czechoslovakia
2. Australia 6 1976 Mark Edmondson John Newcombe  Australia
      1975 John Newcombe Jimmy Connors  USA
      1973 John Newcombe Onny Parun  New Zealand
      1972 Ken Rosewall Malcolm Anderson  Australia
      1971 Ken Rosewall Arthur Ashe  USA
      1969 Rod Laver[b] Andrés Gimeno  Spain
4. Serbia 4 2013 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray  England
      2012 Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal  Spain
      2011 Novak Djokovic Andy Murray  England
      2008 Novak Djokovic Jo-Wilfried Tsonga  France
4. Switzerland 4 2010 Roger Federer Andy Murray  England
      2007 Roger Federer Fernando González  Chile
      2006 Roger Federer Marcos Baghdatis  Cyprus
      2004 Roger Federer Marat Safin  Russia
6. Czechoslovakia / Czech Republic 3 1998 Petr Korda Marcelo Ríos  Chile
      1990 Ivan Lendl Stefan Edberg  Sweden
      1989 Ivan Lendl Miloslav Mecír  Czechoslovakia
7. Russia 2 2005 Marat Safin Lleyton Hewitt  Australia
      1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Thomas Enqvist  Sweden
7. Germany 2 1996 Boris Becker Michael Chang  USA
      1991 Boris Becker Ivan Lendl  Czechoslovakia
7. Argentina 2 1979 Guillermo Vilas John Sadri  USA
      1978 Guillermo Vilas John Marks  Australia
10. Spain 1 2009 Rafael Nadal Roger Federer  Switzerland
10. South Africa 1 1981 Johan Kriek Steve Denton  USA


1.  USA 15 2010 Serena Williams Justine Henin  Belgium
      2009 Serena Williams Dinara Safina  Russia
      2007 Serena Williams Maria Sharapova  Russia
      2005 Serena Williams Lindsay Davenport  USA
      2003 Serena Williams Venus Williams  USA
      2002 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis  Switzerland
      2001 Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis  Switzerland
      2000 Lindsay Davenport Martina Hingis  Switzerland
      1996 Monica Seles Anke Huber  Germany
      1985 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert  USA
      1984 Chris Evert Helena Suková  Czechoslovakia
      1983 Martina Navratilova Kathy Jordan  USA
      1982 Chris Evert Martina Navratilova  USA
      1981 Martina Navratilova Chris Evert  USA
      1979 Barbara Jordan Sharon Walsh  USA
2. Australia 10 1978 Chris O’Neil Betsy Nagelsen  USA
      1977 Kerry Melville Reid Dianne Fromholtz Balestrat  Australia
      1977 Evonne Goolagong Cawley Helen Gourlay Cawley  Australia
      1976 Evonne Goolagong Cawley Renáta Tomanová  Czechoslovakia
      1975 Evonne Goolagong Cawley Martina Navratilova  Czechoslovakia
      1974 Evonne Goolagong Cawley Chris Evert  USA
      1973 Margaret Court Evonne Goolagong Cawley  Australia
      1971 Margaret Court Evonne Goolagong Cawley  Australia
      1970 Margaret Court Kerry Melville Reid  Australia
      1969 Margaret Court Billie Jean King  USA
3. Germany / West Germany 4 1994 Steffi Graf Arantxa Sánchez Vicario  Spain
      1990 Steffi Graf Mary Joe Fernandez  USA
      1989 Steffi Graf Helena Suková  Czechoslovakia
      1988 Steffi Graf Chris Evert  USA
4. Switzerland 3 1999 Martina Hingis Amélie Mauresmo  France
      1998 Martina Hingis Conchita Martínez  Spain
      1997 Martina Hingis Mary Pierce  France
4. Yugoslavia 3 1993 Monica Seles Steffi Graf  Germany
      1992 Monica Seles Mary Joe Fernandez  USA
      1991 Monica Seles Jana Novotná  Czechoslovakia
6. Belarus 2 2013 Victoria Azarenka Li Na  China
      2012 Victoria Azarenka Maria Sharapova  Russia
6. Belgium 2 2011 Kim Clijsters Li Na  China
      2004 Justine Henin Kim Clijsters  Belgium
6. France 2 2006 Amélie Mauresmo Justine Henin  Belgium
      1995 Mary Pierce Arantxa Sánchez Vicario  Spain
6. Czechoslovakia 2 1987 Hana Mandlíková Martina Navratilova  USA
      1980 Hana Mandlíková Wendy Turnbull  Australia
10. Russia 1 2008 Maria Sharapova Ana Ivanovic  Serbia
10. England 1 1972 Virginia Wade Evonne Goolagong Cawley  Australia

Photo: smh.com.au

%d bloggers like this: