Peyton Manning, Brett Favre and the Most Go-Ahead Touchdowns Thrown, Ever

Peyton Manning Takes The Lead (Again)

Peyton Manning Takes The Lead (Again)

Here’s a record on the verge of being broken, courtesy Peyton Manning (again). And the victim? Brett Favre (again).

According my source,‘s play index, these 20 quarterbacks have thrown the most go-ahead touchdowns – either to take the initial lead in a game or take the lead away during a game (regardless of the game’s final outcome) – in NFL history.

Favre and Manning are the only two QBs to grab the lead over 150 times, and right now, Manning needs to do it just two more times to take the historical lead. Doubtless, this record will be padded.

Drew Brees and Tom Brady, both a few years younger, might catch up to Favre, but by that time, Manning, assuming he keeps going after this season, might be too far away to reach.

1. Brett Favre 167 Green Bay Packers, New York Jets, Minnesota Vikings 1991-2010
2. Peyton Manning 166 Indianapolis Colts, Denver Broncos 1998-Present
3. Dan Marino 134 Miami Dolphins 1983-1999
4. Drew Brees 127 San Diego Chargers, New Orleans Saints 2001-Present
4. Fran Tarkenton 127 Minnesota Vikings, New York Giants 1961-1978
6. Tom Brady 120 New England Patriots 2000-Present
7. Johnny Unitas 111 Baltimore Colts 1956-1973
8. Joe Montana 103 San Francisco 49ers, Kansas City Chiefs 1979-1994
9. John Elway 103 Denver Broncos 1983-1998
10. Vinny Testaverde 97 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Cleveland Browns, Baltimore Ravens, New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys, Carolina Panthers 1987-2007
11. Drew Bledsoe 94 New England Patriots, Buffalo Bills, Dallas Cowboys 1993-2006
12. Sonny Jurgensen 93 Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins 1957-1974
13. Warren Moon 90 Houston Oilers, Minnesota Vikings, Seattle Seahawks 1984-2000
14. Ben Roethlisberger 87 Pittsburgh Steelers 2004-Present
14. Eli Manning 87 New York Giants 2004-Present
16. Philip Rivers 86 San Diego Chargers 2004-Present
16. Dave Krieg 86 Seattle Seahawks, Kansas City Chiefs, Detroit Lions, Arizona Cardinals, Chicago Bears 1980-1998
16. Tony Romo 86 Dallas Cowboys 2004-Present
16. Dan Fouts 86 San Diego Chargers 1973-1987
20. Carson Palmer 82 Cincinnati Bengals, Oakland Raiders, Arizona Cardinals 2004-Present

Check out my source, where, amazingly, you can see every single quarterback who ever threw even one go-ahead touchdown.



Posted on November 12, 2014, in NFL Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: