NFL: Defensive Players That Have Won MVP (And MVPs By Position)

What Do The Fearsome Lawrence Taylor, Alan Page And...uh...Mark Moseley Have in Common?

What Do The Fearsome Lawrence Taylor, Alan Page And…uh…Mark Moseley Have in Common?

Linebacker Lawrence Taylor and defensive tackle Alan Page.

Out of 59 AP MVPs awarded, only those two gridders played defense.

And guess what, even one kicker (!) won the award. Mark Moseley of the (strike-shortened) 1982 Super Bowl champion 8-1 Washington Redskins.

Everybody else – all 56 – are quarterbacks and running backs. QBs make up 64.4 percent of the winners (38/59), RBs make up 30.5 percent (18/59) and that leaves those three guys mentioned above holding on to the last five percent or so.

You know what might be crazier than just two defensive players winning MVP (or that even a kicker has won one), though? Not one wide receiver has won the MVP, including the oft-recognized and NFL-recognized greatest player of all time, Jerry Rice.

No tight ends, either.

But can you say Rob Gronkowski? Rumblings from the masses and media are demanding his consideration for 2014. Has he been as much a key to the New England Patriots‘ surging success as Tom Brady?

Then there’s J.J. Watt, the Houston Texans‘ defensive end. He is in the running, officially.

Still, though, as usual, it’s Brady and Aaron Rodgers and even Andrew Luck and (of course) the reigning MVP, Peyton Manning, at the top of most rankings.


1. LB 1986 Lawrence Taylor New York Giants
2. K 1982 Mark Moseley Washington Redskins
3. DT 1971 Alan Page Minnesota Vikings



1. QB 2013 Peyton Manning Denver Broncos
2. QB 2011 Aaron Rodgers Green Bay Packers
3. QB 2010 Tom Brady New England Patriots
4. QB 2009 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
5. QB 2008 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
6. QB 2007 Tom Brady New England Patriots
7. QB 2004 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
8. QB 2003 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
9. QB 2003 Steve McNair Tennessee Titans
10. QB 2002 Rich Gannon Oakland Raiders
11. QB 2001 Kurt Warner St. Louis Rams
12. QB 1999 Kurt Warner St. Louis Rams
13. QB 1997 Brett Favre Green Bay Packers
14. QB 1996 Brett Favre Green Bay Packers
15. QB 1995 Brett Favre Green Bay Packers
16. QB 1994 Steve Young San Francisco 49ers
17. QB 1992 Steve Young San Francisco 49ers
18. QB 1990 Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers
19. QB 1989 Joe Montana San Francisco 49ers
20. QB 1988 Boomer Esiason Cincinnati Bengals
21. QB 1987 John Elway Denver Broncos
22. QB 1984 Dan Marino Miami Dolphins
23. QB 1983 Joe Theismann Washington Redskins
24. QB 1981 Ken Anderson Cincinnati Bengals
25. QB 1980 Brian Sipe Cleveland Browns
26. QB 1978 Terry Bradshaw Pittsburgh Steelers
27. QB 1976 Bert Jones Baltimore Colts
28. QB 1975 Fran Tarkenton Minnesota Vikings
29. QB 1974 Ken Stabler Oakland Raiders
30. QB 1970 John Brodie San Francisco 49ers
31. QB 1969 Roman Gabriel Los Angeles Rams
32. QB 1968 Earl Morrall Baltimore Colts
33. QB 1967 Johnny Unitas Baltimore Colts
34. QB 1966 Bart Starr Green Bay Packers
35. QB 1964 Johnny Unitas Baltimore Colts
36. QB 1963 Y.A. Tittle New York Giants
37. QB 1960 Norm Van Brocklin Philadelphia Eagles
38. QB 1959 Johnny Unitas Baltimore Colts



1. RB 2012 Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings
2. RB 2006 LaDainian Tomlinson San Diego Chargers
3. RB 2005 Shaun Alexander Seattle Seahawks
4. RB 2000 Marshall Faulk St. Louis Rams
5. RB 1998 Terrell Davis Denver Broncos
6. RB 1997 Barry Sanders Detroit Lions
7. RB 1993 Emmitt Smith Dallas Cowboys
8. RB 1991 Thurman Thomas Buffalo Bills
9. RB 1985 Marcus Allen Los Angeles Raiders
10. RB 1979 Earl Campbell Houston Oilers
11. RB 1977 Walter Payton Chicago Bears
12. RB 1973 O.J. Simpson Buffalo Bills
13. RB 1972 Larry Brown Washington Redskins
14. RB 1965 Jim Brown Cleveland Browns
15. RB 1962 Jim Taylor Green Bay Packers
16. RB 1961 Paul Hornung Green Bay Packers
17. RB 1958 Jim Brown Cleveland Browns
18. RB 1957 Jim Brown Cleveland Browns

Photos: USATSI via / Vernon Biever via


Posted on November 18, 2014, in NFL Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Did Moseley win the MVP in 1982 due to his 95.2% accuracy rate during the season?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: