Heisman Trophy Award Winners by Class: Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors

The Only Two Freshmen To Win The Heisman Trophy: Jameis Winston And Johnny Manziel

The Only Two Freshmen To Win The Heisman Trophy: Jameis Winston And Johnny Manziel

Only two freshmen and three sophomores have won the Heisman Trophy Award – and all within the last seven seasons.

The two freshmen are, in fact, the last two winners: quarterbacks Johnny Manziel and the youngest Heisman Trophy recipient ever, Jameis Winston.

There’s a youth movement afoot in the winner’s selection process. Seniors have historically won the most by far. Fifty six of the 79 winners (71 percent) have won the Heisman in their final year.

But a senior has not won since 2006, and will not win in 2014 either.

The three finalists – Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper, Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and the big favorite, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota – are all officially juniors, upping that class’ total to 19.

By the way, there were never any exclusionary rules in voting. In other words, since the first Heisman was awarded in 1935, all four classes have always been eligible.

Freshman 2 2013 Jameis Winston Florida State
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
Sophomore 3 2009 Mark Ingram Alabama
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma
2007 Tim Tebow Florida
Junior 18 2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor
2010 Cam Newton Auburn
2005 Reggie Bush Southern California
2004 Matt Leinart Southern California
2003 Jason White Oklahoma
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan
1990 Ty Detmer Brigham Young
1989 Andre Ware Houston
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State
1963 Roger Staubach Navy
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State
1948 Doak Walker Southern Methodist
1945 Doc Blanchard Army
Senior 56 2006 Troy Smith Ohio State
2002 Carson Palmer Southern California
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin
1998 Ricky Williams Texas
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida
1995 Eddie George Ohio State
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State
1992 Gino Torretta Miami (FL)
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami (FL)
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska
1981 Marcus Allen Southern California
1980 George Rogers South Carolina
1979 Charles White Southern California
1977 Earl Campbell Texas
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma
1968 O.J. Simpson Southern California
1967 Gary Beban UCLA
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida
1965 Mike Garrett Southern California
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse
1960 Joe Bellino Navy
1959 Billy Cannon Louisiana State
1958 Pete Dawkins Army
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin
1953 John Lattner Notre Dame
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame
1947 John Lujack Notre Dame
1946 Glenn Davis Army
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa
1938 Davey O’Brien Texas Christian
1937 Clint Frank Yale
1936 Larry Kelley Yale
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago

Photos: galleryhip.com / acc.blogs.starnewsonline.com


Posted on December 10, 2014, in NCAA Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: