Defensive Heisman Trophy Winners (And Winners by Position)

There’s only one. Michigan triple-duty cornerback Charles Woodson (he also returned punts and popped in at wide receiver often) is the only defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy.

Only four wide receivers have won it. Everyone else was a quarterback or (mostly) a running back.

I’ll be back with more on this post and yesterday’s highest vote percentage wins in Heisman history later tonight.

In the meantime, here’s the full breakdown of Heisman winners by position…

DB 1 1997 Charles Woodson Michigan
WR 4 1991 Desmond Howard Michigan
    1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame
    1949 Leon Hart * Notre Dame
    1936 Larry Kelley * Yale
QB 32 2013 Jameis Winston Florida State
    2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
    2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor
    2010 Cam Newton Auburn
    2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma
    2007 Tim Tebow Florida
    2006 Troy Smith Ohio State
    2004 Matt Leinart Southern California
    2003 Jason White Oklahoma
    2002 Carson Palmer Southern California
    2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska
    2000 Chris Weinke Florida State
    1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida
    1993 Charlie Ward Florida State
    1992 Gino Torretta Miami (FL)
    1990 Ty Detmer Brigham Young
    1989 Andre Ware Houston
    1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami (FL)
    1984 Doug Flutie Boston College
    1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn
    1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford
    1967 Gary Beban UCLA
    1966 Steve Spurrier Florida
    1964 John Huarte Notre Dame
    1963 Roger Staubach Navy
    1962 Terry Baker Oregon State
    1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame
    1947 John Lujack Notre Dame
    1944 Les Horvath Ohio State
    1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame
    1938 Davey O’Brien Texas Christian
    1937 Clint Frank Yale
RB 42 2009 Mark Ingram Alabama
    2005 Reggie Bush Southern California
    1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin
    1998 Ricky Williams Texas
    1995 Eddie George Ohio State
    1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado
    1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State
    1985 Bo Jackson Auburn
    1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska
    1982 Herschel Walker Georgia
    1981 Marcus Allen Southern California
    1980 George Rogers South Carolina
    1979 Charles White Southern California
    1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma
    1977 Earl Campbell Texas
    1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh
    1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State
    1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State
    1973 John Cappelletti Penn State
    1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska
    1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma
    1968 O.J. Simpson Southern California
    1965 Mike Garrett Southern California
    1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse
    1960 Joe Bellino Navy
    1959 Billy Cannon Louisiana State
    1958 Pete Dawkins Army
    1957 John David Crow Texas A&M
    1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State
    1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin
    1953 John Lattner Notre Dame
    1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma
    1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton
    1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State
    1948 Doak Walker Southern Methodist
    1946 Glenn Davis Army
    1945 Doc Blanchard Army
    1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia
    1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota
    1940 Tom Harmon Michigan
    1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa
    1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago



Posted on December 12, 2014, in NCAA Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: