Seattle Seahawks and Teams with Back-to-Back Super Bowl Appearances

Russell Wilson Has Taken The Seattle Seahawks To Back-To-Back Super Bowl Appearances

Russell Wilson Has Taken The Seattle Seahawks To Back-To-Back Super Bowl Appearances

A popular post here at Sports List of the Day covers the Super Bowl’s back-to-back winners and losers.

But there’s more to back-to-back Super Bowls – just getting there two times in a row is feat enough.

What happens when a team loses one Super Bowl, then returns the next? Are they vindicated?

What about revenge? Anybody beat the team that vanquished them the season before?

The Seattle Seahawks are the 11th franchise to return to the Super Bowl the next season. And hey, Tom Brady‘s New England Patriots were the 10th (2003 and 2004).

All totaled it’s happened 16 times, with the Dallas Cowboys doing it on three separate occasions – twice in the 1970’s and once more in the 1990’s.

Minus the eight back-to-back winners and the three back-to-back losers – and the 2014 Seahawks – we’re left with just four other consecutive occurrences: Two lose-wins and two win-losses.

What about revenge? The only back-to-back Super Bowls with the same two teams were in 1992 and 1993, and the Cowboys took both over the Buffalo Bills. So, nope.

UPDATED LIST: Through Super Bowl XLIX. The Seahawks results updated. So now there have been eight back-to-back winners, three back-to-back losers, three win-losses and two lose-wins.

1. 1966 I Green Bay Packers W Kansas City Chiefs 35-10
  1967 II Green Bay Packers W Oakland Raiders 33-14
2. 1970 V Dallas Cowboys L Baltimore Colts 16-13
  1971 VI Dallas Cowboys W Miami Dolphins 24-3
3. 1971 VI Miami Dolphins L Dallas Cowboys 24-3
  1972 VII Miami Dolphins W Washington Redskins 14-7
  1973 VIII Miami Dolphins W Minnesota Vikings 24-7
4. 1973 VIII Minnesota Vikings L Miami Dolphins 24-7
  1974 IX Minnesota Vikings L Pittsburgh Steelers 16-6
5. 1974 IX Pittsburgh Steelers W Minnesota Vikings 16-6
  1975 X Pittsburgh Steelers W Dallas Cowboys 21-7
6. 1977 XII Dallas Cowboys W Denver Broncos 27-10
  1978 XIII Dallas Cowboys L Pittsburgh Steelers 35-31
7. 1978 XIII Pittsburgh Steelers W Dallas Cowboys 35-31
  1979 XIV Pittsburgh Steelers W Los Angeles Rams 31-19
8. 1982 XVII Washington Redskins W Miami Dolphins 27-17
  1983 XVIII Washington Redskins L Los Angeles Raiders 38-9
9. 1986 XXI Denver Broncos L New York Giants 39-20
  1987 XXII Denver Broncos L Washington Redskins 42-10
10. 1988 XXIII San Francisco 49ers W Cincinnati Bengals 20-16
  1989 XXIV San Francisco 49ers W Denver Broncos 55-10
11. 1990 XXV Buffalo Bills L New York Giants 20-19
  1991 XXVI Buffalo Bills L Washington Redskins 37-24
  1992 XXVII Buffalo Bills L Dallas Cowboys 52-17
  1993 XXVIII Buffalo Bills L Dallas Cowboys 30-13
12. 1992 XXVII Dallas Cowboys W Buffalo Bills 52-17
  1993 XXVIII Dallas Cowboys W Buffalo Bills 30-13
13. 1996 XXXI Green Bay Packers W New England Patriots 35-21
  1997 XXXII Green Bay Packers L Denver Broncos 31-24
14. 1997 XXXII Denver Broncos W Green Bay Packers 31-24
  1998 XXXIII Denver Broncos W Atlanta Falcons 34-19
15. 2003 XXXVIII New England Patriots W Carolina Panthers 32-29
  2004 XXXIX New England Patriots W Philadelphia Eagles 24-21
16. 2013 XLVIII Seattle Seahawks W Denver Broncos 43-8
  2014 XLIX Seattle Seahawks L New England Patriots 28-24

Photo: Dean Rutz via


Posted on January 19, 2015, in NFL Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: