Blog Archives

Baylor QB Robert Griffin III Wins Heisman; Top 10 Heisman Trophy Winners of All Time

Robert Griffin III Passed for 3,998 Yards and Ran for Another 644

Robert Griffin III Passed for 3,998 Yards and Ran for Another 644 (

Baylor Bears‘ quarterback Robert Griffin III has won the 77th Heisman Trophy.  It’s the school’s first Heisman winner.

To see all the winners by school check out a previous Sports List of the Day post: Schools with the Most Heisman Trophy Winners.  For a year-by-year or alphabetical list of all the winners, go to the source:

Want more?

Here’s Time magazine’s rundown of the Top 10 Heisman Trophy Winners.  Even better,’s Top 10 Most Dominant Heisman Trophy Campaigns.

Since all that’s been covered, here’s a twist…how about the Top 10 Heisman Trophy winners that made it big in the NFL.  That’s today’s list below, courtesy the Christian Science Monitor.

Doak Walker 1948 Southern Methodist Mustangs Detroit Lions
Paul Hornung 1956 Notre Dame Fighting Irish Green Bay Packers
Roger Staubach 1963 Navy Midshipmen Dallas Cowboys
O.J. Simpson 1968 USC Trojans Buffalo Bills, San Francisco 49ers
Jim Plunkett 1970 Stanford Cardinal New England Patriots, San Francisco 49ers, Oakland/LA Raiders
Tony Dorsett 1976 Pittsburgh Panthers Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos
Earl Campbell 1977 Texas Longhorns Houston Oilers, New Orleans Saints
Marcus Allen 1981 USC Trojans LA Raiders, Kansas City Chiefs
Doug Flutie 1984 Boston College Eagles Chicago Bears, New England Patriots, Buffalo Bills, San Diego Chargers
Barry Sanders 1988 Oklahoma State Cowboys Detroit Lions
%d bloggers like this: