Blog Archives

Kansas City Royals, New York Mets and the Longest World Series Games of All Time (Number of Innings)

Ladies and gentlemen, tonight you saw (or certainly heard about by now) one of the three longest games in all of World Series history. In 111 World Series and 639 World Series games, including 2015’s Game 1, only three times have we gone into the 14th inning.

The Kansas City Royals were the winners this time around, preceded by two other American League victors. It was the Chicago White Sox in 2005 – then, almost 100 years before that (89 to be exact) – it was the Boston Red Sox.

So, uh, these kind of things don’t happen that often.

Both Sox went on to win their respective World Series. Uh, oh, New York Mets’ fans.

But hold on…let’s dig a little deeper.

1. 2015 1 KANSAS CITY ROYALS 5 New York Mets 4 14 TBD
1. 2005 3 Chicago White Sox 7 HOUSTON ASTROS 5 14 YES
1. 1916 2 BOSTON RED SOX 2 Brooklyn Robins 1 14 YES
4. 2003 4 FLORIDA MARLINS 4 New York Yankees 3 12 YES
4. 2001 5 NEW YORK YANKEES 3 Arizona Diamondbacks 2 12 NO
4. 2000 1 NEW YORK YANKEES 4 New York Mets 3 12 YES
4. 1991 3 ATLANTA BRAVES 5 Minnesota Twins 4 12 NO
4. 1977 1 NEW YORK YANKEES 4 Los Angeles Dodgers 3 12 YES
4. 1975 6 BOSTON RED SOX 7 Cincinnati Reds 6 12 NO
4. 1973 2 New York Mets 10 OAKLAND A’S 7 12 NO
4. 1945 6 CHICAGO CUBS 8 Detroit Tigers 7 12 NO
4. 1934 2 DETROIT TIGERS 3 St. Louis Cardinals 2 12 NO
4. 1924 7 WASHINGTON SENATORS 4 New York Giants 3 12 YES
4. 1924 1 New York Giants 4 WASHINGTON SENATORS 3 12 NO
4. 1914 3 BOSTON BRAVES 5 Philadelphia A’s 4 12 YES
4. 1907 1 CHICAGO CUBS 3 Detroit Tigers 3 12 TIE

Major League Baseball’s Wild Card Round Winners, All Time

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

Two dominating pitching performances wrapped up both 2015 Wild Card games in tight little bows, setting the tone for a postseason which will be primarily about the men on the mound.

American League Cy Young candidate Dallas Keuchel tossed six innings of three-hit ball in the Houston Astros‘ 3-0 shutout over the New York Yankees, while National League Cy Young candidate Jake Arrieta suffocated the Pittsburgh Pirates with 11K’s over nine, putting the ‘Stros and Cubbies into Round 2 (the Division Series).

Houston now has 19-game winner Collin McHugh set for Game 1 against the Kansas City Royals (who have the weakest staff of the remaining playoff teams). Meanwhile, the Chicago Cubs have another two pitchers with under-4.00 ERAs (Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks) prepped as they get ready for the St. Louis Cardinals. The Cards have five starters with double-digit wins – all of whom have ERAs of 3.38 or less!

But, the pitching match up of the early postseason is unquestionably that of the Los Angeles Dodgers‘ staff against the New York Mets‘. The Dodgers will have the two best hurlers in all of baseball today – Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke – pittted against the Mets’ young-gun trifecta of Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard and Matt Harvey.

Buckle up for some nail-biters.

Let’s take a look at today’s list, then.

The one-game Wild Card Round has been around for four years now – and checking out the results, one thing stands out immediately. Home-field advantage doesn’t exist. Six of the eight games so far have been won by the away team.

No team has yet to win more than one Wild Card game and only one team has even appeared in more than one. The Pirates have made the NL’s WCG as the home team the past three seasons. Hey Bucs, it’s time to win the division.

One more very notable note: You think the Wild Card teams have no shot at winning the World Series? Not true. Just remember 2014, when both WC winners made it to the Fall Classic, and the San Francisco Giants won it all in seven.


2015 Houston Astros 3 NEW YORK YANKEES 0   TBD
2014 KANSAS CITY ROYALS 9 Oakland A’s 8 12 inn. Lost World Series 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)
2013 Tampa Bay Rays 4 CLEVELAND INDIANS 0   Lost ALDS 3-1 (Boston Red Sox)
2012 Baltimore Orioles 5 TEXAS RANGERS 1   Lost ALDS 3-2 (New York Yankees)



2015 Chicago Cubs 4 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   TBD
2014 San Francisco Giants 8 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   Won World Series 4-3 (Kansas City Royals)
2013 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 6 Cincinnati Reds 2   Lost NLDS 3-2 (St. Louis Cardinals)
2012 St. Louis Cardinals 6 ATLANTA BRAVES 3   Lost NLCS 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)


Photos: / Justin K. Aller, Getty via

MLB: Teams that Have Come Back to Win the World Series After Being Down 3-2

The 1985 Kansas City Royals Came Back To Win The World Series After Being Down 3-2

The 1985 Kansas City Royals Came Back To Win The World Series After Being Down 3-2

The Kansas City Royals‘ backs are up against the wall. They’re returning home, down to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 in the 2014 World Series.

Well, 21 times a team in such a position, including the 1985 Royals, has come back to win it all. Of those 21 teams, 12, again including the ’85 Royals, had home field advantage. In other words, they won the last two games at home (and KC also won the last game in St. Louis – they actually were down 3-1).

And in other words, it ain’t over till it’s over.

The last time an underdog came back from 3-2 to win the final two games on the road was in 1979, when the Pittsburgh Pirates stole the title from the Baltimore Orioles.

One more note: We know the New York Yankees and St. Louis Cardinals have the most World Series titles – the Yanks far ahead – so naturally they are both well represented below with 12 of the 21 comebacks involving either or both teams.

But here is one area where the Cardinals excel over the Yankees. The Cards have come back from down three games to two an amazing five times (to the Yankees two).

In other words, five of the Cardinals 12 championships (41.6 percent) were born of this scenario. That’s one turnaround away from half. Wow.

1. 1903 Boston Americans* Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3
2. 1921 New York Giants* New York Yankees 5-3
3. 1924 Washington Senators* New York Giants 4-3
4. 1925 Pittsburgh Pirates* Washington Senators 4-3
5. 1926 St. Louis Cardinals New York Yankees* 4-3
6. 1934 St. Louis Cardinals Detroit Tigers* 4-3
7. 1940 Cincinnati Reds* Detroit Tigers 4-3
8. 1946 St. Louis Cardinals* Boston Red Sox 4-3
9. 1952 New York Yankees Brooklyn Dodgers* 4-3
10. 1958 New York Yankees Milwaukee Braves* 4-3
11. 1968 Detroit Tigers St. Louis Cardinals* 4-3
12. 1973 Oakland A’s* New York Mets 4-3
13. 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates Baltimore Orioles* 4-3
14. 1982 St. Louis Cardinals* Milwaukee Brewers 4-3
15. 1985 Kansas City Royals* St. Louis Cardinals 4-3
16. 1986 New York Mets* Boston Red Sox 4-3
17. 1987 Minnesota Twins* St. Louis Cardinals 4-3
18. 1991 Minnesota Twins* Atlanta Braves 4-3
19. 2001 Arizona Diamondbacks* New York Yankees 4-3
20. 2002 Anaheim Angels* San Francisco Giants 4-3
21. 2011 St. Louis Cardinals* Texas Rangers 4-3

* Home field advantage


%d bloggers like this: