Blog Archives

Major League Baseball’s Wild Card Round Winners, All Time

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

Two dominating pitching performances wrapped up both 2015 Wild Card games in tight little bows, setting the tone for a postseason which will be primarily about the men on the mound.

American League Cy Young candidate Dallas Keuchel tossed six innings of three-hit ball in the Houston Astros‘ 3-0 shutout over the New York Yankees, while National League Cy Young candidate Jake Arrieta suffocated the Pittsburgh Pirates with 11K’s over nine, putting the ‘Stros and Cubbies into Round 2 (the Division Series).

Houston now has 19-game winner Collin McHugh set for Game 1 against the Kansas City Royals (who have the weakest staff of the remaining playoff teams). Meanwhile, the Chicago Cubs have another two pitchers with under-4.00 ERAs (Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks) prepped as they get ready for the St. Louis Cardinals. The Cards have five starters with double-digit wins – all of whom have ERAs of 3.38 or less!

But, the pitching match up of the early postseason is unquestionably that of the Los Angeles Dodgers‘ staff against the New York Mets‘. The Dodgers will have the two best hurlers in all of baseball today – Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke – pittted against the Mets’ young-gun trifecta of Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard and Matt Harvey.

Buckle up for some nail-biters.

Let’s take a look at today’s list, then.

The one-game Wild Card Round has been around for four years now – and checking out the results, one thing stands out immediately. Home-field advantage doesn’t exist. Six of the eight games so far have been won by the away team.

No team has yet to win more than one Wild Card game and only one team has even appeared in more than one. The Pirates have made the NL’s WCG as the home team the past three seasons. Hey Bucs, it’s time to win the division.

One more very notable note: You think the Wild Card teams have no shot at winning the World Series? Not true. Just remember 2014, when both WC winners made it to the Fall Classic, and the San Francisco Giants won it all in seven.


2015 Houston Astros 3 NEW YORK YANKEES 0   TBD
2014 KANSAS CITY ROYALS 9 Oakland A’s 8 12 inn. Lost World Series 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)
2013 Tampa Bay Rays 4 CLEVELAND INDIANS 0   Lost ALDS 3-1 (Boston Red Sox)
2012 Baltimore Orioles 5 TEXAS RANGERS 1   Lost ALDS 3-2 (New York Yankees)



2015 Chicago Cubs 4 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   TBD
2014 San Francisco Giants 8 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   Won World Series 4-3 (Kansas City Royals)
2013 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 6 Cincinnati Reds 2   Lost NLDS 3-2 (St. Louis Cardinals)
2012 St. Louis Cardinals 6 ATLANTA BRAVES 3   Lost NLCS 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)


Photos: / Justin K. Aller, Getty via

Pittsburgh Pirates and the Most Losing Seasons in a Row (Under .500, By Team)

The 2013 Pittsburgh Pirates Should Break the Longest Losing-Seasons Streak in Baseball History (Russell Martin and Jason Grilli)

The 2013 Pittsburgh Pirates Should Break the Longest Losing-Seasons Streak in Baseball History (Catcher Russell Martin and Closer Jason Grilli)

The Pittsburgh Pirates might finally be on their way (for real this time) to finishing with a winning record. They’ve finished under .500 every season since 1993 – that’s 20 seasons in a row through 2012.

That’s the most consecutive losing seasons in history, but not by very much. The Philadelphia Phillies had 16 losing seasons in a row in the 1930s and 1940s. The Boston Red Sox and the Athletics franchises had 15 in a row.

The Pirates have the best record in the majors so far this season (51-30, .630) – by much. No one else is in the .600’s.

They pulled a similar stunt in 2012, heading into the All-Star break with a 48-37 record. But it all fell apart in the second half. The Bucs finished 79-83. Close, but no cigar.

This time, though, they’re 21 games over .500. They’ll have to go 29-52 to wind up with a 21st consecutive losing season. That’s probably not going to happen.

Check out some of these other teams. The incredible Yankees (112 seasons) and Giants (130 seasons) franchises’ longest losing-season streaks were only four years.

Every other franchise has hit the skids for longer than that.

These are every franchises’ most losing seasons in a row, including streaks for current teams where applicable.

Arizona Diamondbacks 3 2004-2006 Arizona Diamondbacks
Atlanta Braves 11 1903-1913 Boston Beaneaters (1903-1906)
      Boston Doves (1907-1910)
      Boston Rustlers (1911)
      Boston Braves (1912-1913)
  7 1984-1990 Atlanta Braves
Baltimore Orioles 14 1998-2011 Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox 15 1919-1933 Boston Red Sox
Chicago Cubs 10 1953-1962 Chicago Cubs
Chicago White Sox 7 1944-1950 Chicago White Sox
Cincinnati Reds 11 1945-1955 Cincinnati Reds (1941-1953)
      Cincinnati Redlegs (1954-1955)
  9 2001-2009 Cincinnati Reds
Cleveland Indians 7 1969-1975 Cleveland Indians
  7 1987-1993 Cleveland Indians
Colorado Rockies 6 2001-2006 Colorado Rockies
Detroit Tigers 12 1994-2005 Detroit Tigers
Houston Astros 7 1962-1968 Houston Colt .45’s (1962-1964)
      Houston Astros (1965-1968)
  4 1965-1968 Houston Astros
  4 2009-2012 Houston Astros
Kansas City Royals 9 2004-2012 Kansas City Royals
Los Angeles Angels 7 1971-1977 California Angels
  1 2010 L.A. Angels
Los Angeles Dodgers 11 1904-1914 Brooklyn Superbas (1904-1910)
      Brooklyn Dodgers (1911-1912)
      Brooklyn Superbas (1913)
      Brooklyn Robins (1914)
  2 1967-1968 L.A. Dodgers
  2 1986-1987 L.A. Dodgers
Miami Marlins 5 1998-2002 Florida Marlins
  1 2012 Miami Marlins
Milwaukee Brewers 12 1993-2004 Milwaukee Brewers
Minnesota Twins 11 1901-1911 Washington Senators
  8 1993-2008 Minnesota Twins
New York Mets 7 1962-1968 New York Mets
  7 1977-1983 New York Mets
New York Yankees 4 1912-1915 New York Highlanders (1912)
      New York Yankees (1913-1915)
  4 1989-1992 New York Yankees
Oakland A’s 15 1953-1967 Philadelphia Athletics (1953-1954)
      Kansas City Athletics (1955-1967)
  6 1993-1998 Oakland A’s
Philadelphia Phillies 16 1933-1948 Philadelphia Phillies
Pittsburgh Pirates 20 1993-2012 Pittsburgh Pirates
San Diego Padres 9 1969-1977 San Diego Padres
San Francisco Giants 4 1899-1902 New York Giants
  4 1974-1977 San Francisco Giants
  4 2005-2008 San Francisco Giants
Seattle Mariners 14 1977-1990 Seattle Mariners
St. Louis Cardinals 9 1902-1910 St. Louis Cardinals
Tampa Bay Rays 10 1998-2007 Tampa Bay Devil Rays
Texas Rangers 8 1961-1968 Washington Senators (II)
  4 1982-1985 Texas Rangers
  4 2000-2003 Texas Rangers
  4 2005-2008 Texas Rangers
Toronto Blue Jays 6 1977-1982 Toronto Blue Jays
Washington Nationals 10 1969-1978 Montreal Expos
  6 2006-2011 Washington Nationals

Thanks to who inspired today’s list with this post.


%d bloggers like this: