Blog Archives

Major League Baseball’s Wild Card Round Winners, All Time

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

The Houston Astros And Chicago Cubs Win Their Respective 2015 Wild Card Games

Two dominating pitching performances wrapped up both 2015 Wild Card games in tight little bows, setting the tone for a postseason which will be primarily about the men on the mound.

American League Cy Young candidate Dallas Keuchel tossed six innings of three-hit ball in the Houston Astros‘ 3-0 shutout over the New York Yankees, while National League Cy Young candidate Jake Arrieta suffocated the Pittsburgh Pirates with 11K’s over nine, putting the ‘Stros and Cubbies into Round 2 (the Division Series).

Houston now has 19-game winner Collin McHugh set for Game 1 against the Kansas City Royals (who have the weakest staff of the remaining playoff teams). Meanwhile, the Chicago Cubs have another two pitchers with under-4.00 ERAs (Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks) prepped as they get ready for the St. Louis Cardinals. The Cards have five starters with double-digit wins – all of whom have ERAs of 3.38 or less!

But, the pitching match up of the early postseason is unquestionably that of the Los Angeles Dodgers‘ staff against the New York Mets‘. The Dodgers will have the two best hurlers in all of baseball today – Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke – pittted against the Mets’ young-gun trifecta of Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard and Matt Harvey.

Buckle up for some nail-biters.

Let’s take a look at today’s list, then.

The one-game Wild Card Round has been around for four years now – and checking out the results, one thing stands out immediately. Home-field advantage doesn’t exist. Six of the eight games so far have been won by the away team.

No team has yet to win more than one Wild Card game and only one team has even appeared in more than one. The Pirates have made the NL’s WCG as the home team the past three seasons. Hey Bucs, it’s time to win the division.

One more very notable note: You think the Wild Card teams have no shot at winning the World Series? Not true. Just remember 2014, when both WC winners made it to the Fall Classic, and the San Francisco Giants won it all in seven.


2015 Houston Astros 3 NEW YORK YANKEES 0   TBD
2014 KANSAS CITY ROYALS 9 Oakland A’s 8 12 inn. Lost World Series 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)
2013 Tampa Bay Rays 4 CLEVELAND INDIANS 0   Lost ALDS 3-1 (Boston Red Sox)
2012 Baltimore Orioles 5 TEXAS RANGERS 1   Lost ALDS 3-2 (New York Yankees)



2015 Chicago Cubs 4 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   TBD
2014 San Francisco Giants 8 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 0   Won World Series 4-3 (Kansas City Royals)
2013 PITTSBURGH PIRATES 6 Cincinnati Reds 2   Lost NLDS 3-2 (St. Louis Cardinals)
2012 St. Louis Cardinals 6 ATLANTA BRAVES 3   Lost NLCS 4-3 (San Francisco Giants)


Photos: / Justin K. Aller, Getty via

NFL: Wild Cards That Have Won the Super Bowl

The 2010 Green Bay Packers Were the Last Wild Card Team To Win the Super Bowl

The 2010 Green Bay Packers Were the Last Wild Card Team To Win the Super Bowl (

Six wild card teams have won the Super Bowl, including last year’s champion, the Green Bay Packers.

The year before the AFL-NFL merger, the Kansas City Chiefs finished second in the AFL West to the Oakland Raiders, but defeated them in the playoffs to meet the NFL’s Minnesota Vikings.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

1969 IV Kansas City Chiefs 2nd in AFL West Minnesota Vikings
1980 XV Oakland Raiders AFC Wild Card Philadelphia Eagles
1997 XXXII Denver Broncos AFC Wild Card Green Bay Packers
2000 XXXV Baltimore Ravens AFC Wild Card New York Giants
2005 XL Pittsburgh Steelers AFC Wild Card Seattle Seahawks
2007 XLII New York Giants NFC Wild Card New England Patriots
2010 XLV Green Bay Packers NFC Wild Card Pittsburgh Steelers

Tampa Bay Rays, St. Louis Cardinals and All the Wild Card Winners

2011 Wild Card Winners, Tampa Bay Rays and St Louis Cardinals

2011 Wild Card Winners, Tampa Bay Rays and St Louis Cardinals (,

Wow. What a finish to the baseball season yesterday.  Everyone’s talking about it, some say the biggest night in baseball history.

The Tampa Bay Rays and St. Louis Cardinals are in the playoffs following two of the biggest collapses (simultaneously mind you) in baseball history by the Boston Red Sox and Atlanta Braves.  I can’t believe it myself.

The Rays and Cards enter the postseason as the wild card of each’s repective league.  Here’s a list of every wild card winner since the playoff system was instituted in 1995 – a year after baseball went on strike and there were no playoffs at all.

Four wild card winners went on to win the World Series: the 2002 Anaheim Angels, the 2004 Boston Red Sox and the Florida Marlins twice (1997, 2003).

The Boston Red Sox have won the most wild cards – 7.


1995 – New York Yankees

1996 – Baltimore Orioles

1997 – New York Yankees

1998 – Boston Red Sox

1999 – Boston Red Sox

2000 – Seattle Mariners

2001 – Oakland A’s

2002 – Anaheim Angels (won World Series)

2003 – Boston Red Sox

2004 – Boston Red Sox (won World Series)

2005 – Boston Red Sox

2006 – Detroit Tigers (lost World Series)

2007 – New York Yankees

2008 – Boston Red Sox

2009 – Boston Red Sox

2010 – New York Yankees

2011 – Tampa Bay Rays


1995 – Colorado Rockies

1996 – Los Angeles Dodgers

1997 – Florida Marlins (won World Series)

1998 – Chicago Cubs

1999 – New York Mets

2000 – New York Mets (lost World Series)

2001 – St. Louis Cardinals

2002 – San Francisco Giants (lost World Series)

2003 – Florida Marlins (won World Series)

2004 – Houston Astros

2005 – Houston Astros (lost World Series)

2006 – Los Angeles Dodgers

2007 – Colorado Rockies (lost World Series)

2008 – Milwaukee Brewers

2009 – Colorado Rockies

2010 – Atlanta Braves

2011 – St. Louis Cardinals

%d bloggers like this: