Blog Archives

Carey Price and Goalies Who Won Both the Hart and Vezina Trophies in the Same Season (MVP and Best Goalie)

Montreal Canadiens Goalie Carey Price Joins One Of The Most Exclusive Clubs In Hockey

Montreal Canadiens Goalie Carey Price Joins One Of The Most Exclusive Clubs In Hockey

Montreal Canadiens goalie Carey Price has joined an especially exclusive NHL club. He is one of only four goalies to win the Hart Trophy (NHL Season MVP) and Vezina Trophy (Best Goalie of Season) in the same year.

Buffalo Sabres netter Dominik Hasek did it back to back in the late 1990’s.

The other two goalies are Canadiens Jacques Plante and Jose Theodore.

The Hart Trophy was first awarded following the 1923-24 season; the Vezina Trophy after the 1926-27 season. So, in 88 seasons (since 1926-27 and not including 2004-05) only five times has a goalie achieved the Hart-Vezina double.

Impressive company, Mr. Price.

By the way, only seven goalies ever won the NHL MVP in the first place! Who are the other three? Answer here.

1. 1961-62 Jacques Plante Montreal Canadiens
2. 1996-97 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
3. 1997-98 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
4. 2001-02 Jose Theodore Montreal Canadiens
5. 2014-15 Carey Price Montreal Canadiens

Photo: QMI Agency via

NHL: Goalies Who Have Won the Hart Trophy (NHL MVP)

Coming Up!

Steve Kerr, David Blatt and Rookie Head Coaches That Went to the NBA Finals

1. 1946-47 Philadelphia Warriors Edward Gottlieb W
2. 1946-47 Chicago Stags Harold Olsen L
3. 1947-48 Baltimore Bullets Buddy Jennette W
4. 1948-49 Minneapolis Lakers John Kundla W
5. 1949-50 Syracuse Nationals Al Cervi L
6. 1954-55 Fort Worth Pistons Charles Eckman L
7. 1955-56 Philadelphia Warriors George Senesky W
8. 1966-67 San Francisco Warriors Bill Sharman L
9. 1967-68 Los Angeles Lakers Butch Van Breda Kolff L
10. 1969-70 Los Angeles Lakers Joe Mullaney L
11. 1977-78 Seattle SuperSonics Bob Hopkins L
12. 1979-80 Los Angeles Lakers Jack McKinney W
13. 1979-80 Los Angeles Lakers Paul Westhead W
14. 1981-82 Los Angeles Lakers Pat Riley W
15. 1990-91 Los Angeles Lakers Mike Dunleavy L
16. 1992-93 Phoenix Suns Paul Westphal L
17. 2014-15 Cleveland Cavaliers David Blatt TBD
18. 2014-15 Golden State Warriors Steve Kerr TBD
%d bloggers like this: